When occured: 
Wed, 1953-01-21

The Baseball Writers Association of America passes over Joe DiMaggio in his first year of eligibility and elects pitcher Dizzy Dean and outfielder Al Simmons to the Hall of Fame. Dean gathers 209 votes while Simmons' total of 199 is one more than needed. The colorful Dean had a .644 career winning percentage and won 120 games from 1932 through 1936, including 30 wins in 1934. Simmons, who drove in 100 runs in each of his first eleven major league seasons, was one of the most feared hitters of his time. Also joining DiMaggio, who finishes 8th in the voting, are in order Bill Terry, Bill Dickey, Rabbit Maranville, Dazzy Vance, Ted Lyons, Chief Bender (9th) and Gabby Hartnett (10th). All will eventually make it, DiMaggio again misses in 1954 and is elected in 1955.


More From Around the Web

Sponsored Links

This day in baseball history

May 05

  • 2007

    On May 5, 2007, Roger Clemens agrees to a one-year deal wort ...

  • 1978

    On May 5, 1978, Pete Rose of the Cincinnati Reds collects th ...

  • 1977

    On May 5, 1977, fans at Yankee Stadium throw dozens of newly ...

More Baseball History

Player Profile

George Davis

2B, New York Giants

Read Bio
Hall of Fame

Addie Joss

1B, Cleveland Indians

Read Bio
Season Profile

1961 Detroit Tigers

The craziness of 196

Read Bio
Historical Figure

Whitey Lockman


Read Bio
Manager Profile

Mickey Cochrane

Philadelphia Athletics

Read Bio
Ballpark Profile

Target Field

Target Field is a baseball

Read Bio
Al Simmons, Bill Terry, Chief Bender, Dazzy Vance, Dizzy Dean, Gabby Hartnett, Joe DiMaggio, Rabbit Maranville, Ted Lyons


    Be respectful, keep it clean.
Login or register to post comments

Stay Connected

Share |

Today's Poll

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: