When occured: 
Wed, 1979-10-31

Mike Flanagan, who posted a 23-9 record for the Baltimore Orioles, is named the winner of the American League Cy Young Award by a comfortable margin over Tommy John of the Yankees.


More From Around the Web

Sponsored Links

This day in baseball history

August 28

  • 1996

    On August 28, 1996, the Atlanta Braves acquire 14-game winne ...

  • 1990

    On August 28, 1990, Ryne Sandberg of the Chicago Cubs become ...

  • 1977

    On August 28, 1977, Steve Garvey of the Los Angeles Dodgers ...

More Baseball History

Player Profile

Mel Ott

OF, New York Giants

Read Bio
Hall of Fame

Eddie Collins

2B, Philadelphia Athletics

Read Bio
Season Profile

1981 Boston Red Sox

Mike Torrez to the R

Read Bio
Historical Figure

Barney Dreyfuss

Barney Dreyfuss

Read Bio
Manager Profile

Roger Bresnahan

New York Giants

Read Bio
Ballpark Profile


Griffith Stadium was home to

Read Bio
Cy Young Award, Mike Flanagan, Tommy John
Login or register to post comments

Stay Connected

Share |

Today's Poll

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: