When occured: 
Sun, 2005-07-31

Among thousands of high-spirited Boston Red Sox and Chicago Cubs fans and the 48 Hall of Famers sitting on the dais, Wade Boggs and Ryne Sandberg are enshrined into the Baseball Hall of Fame. Also honored are San Diego Padres announcer Jerry Coleman, winner of the Ford C. Frick Award, and sportswriter and broadcast analyst Peter Gammons, recipient of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award.


More From Around the Web

Sponsored Links

This day in baseball history

July 29

  • 1996

    On July 29, 1996, future Hall of Famer Tommy Lasorda announc ...

  • 1983

    On July 29, 1983, Steve Garvey’s National League record pl ...

  • 1973

    On July 29, 1973, Wilbur Wood earns his 20th victory, as the ...

More Baseball History

Player Profile


Read Bio
Hall of Fame

Dick Williams

OF, Baltimore Orioles

Read Bio
Season Profile

1985 Detroit Tigers

Because the Tigers g

Read Bio
Historical Figure

Gene Autry

Orvan Gene

Read Bio
Manager Profile

Bob Elliott

Chicago White Sox

Read Bio
Ballpark Profile

Anderson Memorial

Anderson Memorial Stadium is a

Read Bio
2005 Hall of Fame, Jerry Coleman, Peter Gammons, Ryne Sandberg, Wade Boggs
Login or register to post comments

Stay Connected

Share |

Today's Poll

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: