The Babe Ruth Award / World Series Most Valuable Player

The Babe Ruth Award / World Series Most Valuable Player

World Series Most Valuable Player Award (MVP)
The World Series Most Valuable Player award
Awarded for Major League Baseball's Championship Series MVP
Presented by Baseball Writers and media members at the game
First awarded 1948
Currently held by Edgar Renteria

The Babe Ruth Award is an annual award given to the Major League Baseball player with the best performance in the World Series, similar to the World Series MVP Award. The award was created by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America in honor of the late New York Yankees legend, Babe Ruth, and was first awarded a year after Ruth's death in 1948. It is typically presented several weeks after the Series.

The World Series Most Valuable Player Award was originally given by the editors of Sport Magazine and started in 1955. The award is now voted on during the final game of the World Series by a committee of reporters and officials in attendance. It is announced at the game.

The series follows a best-of-seven playoff format, and occurs after the Division Series and the League Championship Series (LCS). It is played by the winners of the National League Championship Series (NLCS) and the American League Championship Series (ALCS). The most recent champions are the San Francisco Giants, who won in the 2010 series. Edgar Renteria of the Giants is the most recent winner of the Babe Ruth Award.

Joe Page of the New York Yankees was the first winner of the Babe Ruth Award. In all, members of the Yankees have won the award sixteen times. Depending upon definitions, the first non-American to win the award was either Roberto Clemente in 1971 or Luis Tiant in 1975. Tiant is also the only winner of the Babe Ruth Award to play for the World Series-losing team. Two players, Sandy Koufax and Jack Morris, have won the award twice.

By The Baseball Page


More From Around the Web

Sponsored Links

This day in baseball history

August 31

  • 1992

    On August 31, 1992, the Oakland A’s and Texas Rangers anno ...

  • 1990

    Ken Griffey Jr. and Ken Griffey Sr. become the first father ...

  • 1990

    the Houston Astros complete one of franchise's best trades e ...

More Baseball History

Player Profile

Omar Vizquel

SS, Seattle Mariners

Read Bio
Hall of Fame

Mel Ott

OF, New York Giants

Read Bio
Season Profile

1958 Philadelphia Ph

Rich “Whitey” As

Read Bio
Historical Figure

New York

The New York Knickerbockers

Read Bio
Manager Profile

Tommy Helms

Pittsburg Pirates

Read Bio
Ballpark Profile

Rangers Ballpark in

This park was the opposite of

Read Bio
Babe Ruth Award, World Series Most Valuable Player Award


    Be respectful, keep it clean.
Login or register to post comments

Stay Connected

Share |

Today's Poll

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: