Don Newcombe

Don Newcombe

June 14, 1926
6' 4"
220 lbs
Major League Debut:
5-20-1949 with BRO
Allstar Selections:
1949 ROOK, 1956 CY, 1956 MVP, 1956 TSN


A three-time 20-game winner, big Don Newcombe was unable to sustain his success, winning 149 games in a career interrupted by military service and injury. One of the best athletes to take the mound, Newcombe hit seven homers in 117 at-bats for the Dodgers in 1955, and batted .271 for his career. In 1956 he won 27 games on his way to the National League Cy Young and Most Valuable Player Awards. He was the first african-american pitcher to win 20 games in the major leagues.

Best Season

Newcombe was dominant in 1956, hurling 27 victories and winning the first-ever Cy Young Award.

Fact: 1

With the Nagoya Dragons of the Japan League in 1962, Don Newcombe played first base and batted .262 with 12 homers in 81 games.

Fact: 2

Don Newcombe is the only pitcher to win the Rookie of the Year Award, Cy Young Award, and MVP Award.


Before 1946 Season: Signed by the Brooklyn Dodgers as an amateur free agent;

June 15, 1958: Traded by the Los Angeles Dodgers to the Cincinnati Redlegs for players to be named later, Johnny Klippstein, and Steve Bilko.

The Cincinnati Redlegs sent Art Fowler (June 23, 1958) and Charlie Rabe (June 23, 1958) to the Los Angeles Dodgers to complete the trade;

July 29, 1960: Purchased by the Cleveland Indians from the Cincinnati Reds;

January 19, 1961: Released by the Cleveland Indians.


In 1949, as a rookie, Newcombe pitched 32 scoreless innings down the stretch to help the Dodgers win the pennant by a single game.

The 12 Black Aces

Through 2004, twelve African-American pitchers had won 20-games in the major leagues. Of course, black pitchers had won twenty many times in the negro leagues, but these dozen, who, under the direction of Mudcat Grant, called themselves the "12 Black Aces," are an exclusive club:

1. Don Newcombe, 1951 and 1955

2. Sam Jones, 1959

3. Bob Gibson, 1965

4. Mudcat Grant, 1965

5. Earl Wilson, 1967

6. Fergie Jenkins, 1967

7. Al Downing, 1971

8. Vida Blue, 1971, 1973 and 1975

9. J.R. Richard, 1976

10. Mike Norris, 1980

11. Dwight Gooden, 1985

12. Dave Stewart, 1987 - 1990


Don Newcombe
Share |