In the 1913 World Series, the Philadelphia Athletics beat the New York Giants four games to one.

The A's pitching gave the edge to a closer-than-it-looked Series in 1913. The great Christy Mathewson lost his Series swan song in the final game to an old college rival and eventual fellow Baseball Hall of Fame member, Eddie Plank.

The Giants thus became the first National League team since the Chicago Cubs (1906–1908) to win three consecutive pennants. They were also the second club (following the Detroit Tigers (1907–1909) to lose three consecutive World Series; and, as of 2010, the last to do so.

The Series itself was an ironic face-off, as the Giants and A's would eventually become crosstown rivals. The A's would win again in a four-game sweep in the 1989 World Series, famous for the earthquake that struck before Game 3, which would be the last victory for the A's.


Philadelphia Athletics (W: 96, L: 57, Pct: .627, GA: 6 ½) - New York Giants (W: 101, L: 51, Pct: .664, GA: 12 ½)


Connie Mack (Philadelphia), John McGraw (New York)


Bill Klem (NL), Tom Connolly (AL), Cy Rigler (NL), Rip Egan (AL)

Hall of Famers:

Athletics: Connie Mack (mgr.), Frank Baker, Chief Bender, Eddie Collins, Herb Pennock (dnp), Eddie Plank. Giants: John McGraw (mgr.), Rube Marquard, Christy Mathewson.


More From Around the Web

Sponsored Links

This day in baseball history

December 25

  • 2004

    The Kansas City Royals sign free agent pitcher Jose Lima. ...

  • 2003

    The Cleveland Indians sign free agent second baseman Ron Bel ...

  • 2002

    Pete Rose admits that he bet on baseball, "Four or five time ...

More Baseball History

Player Profile

Larry Sherry

P, Houston Astros

Read Bio
Hall of Fame

Jim Rice

DH, Boston Red Sox

Read Bio
Season Profile

1999 Boston Red Sox

In 1999 and 2000, th

Read Bio
Historical Figure

John Day Biography


Read Bio
Manager Profile

Ray Knight

New York Mets

Read Bio
Ballpark Profile

Los Angeles Memorial

Home of Los Angeles

Read Bio
1913 World Series, Chicago Cubs, Chief Bender, Christy Mathewson, Connie Mack, Detroit Tigers, Eddie Collins, Eddie Plank, Frank Baker, Hall of Fame, Herb Pennock, John McGraw, New York Giants, Philadelphia Athletics, Polo Grounds, Shibe Park


    Be respectful, keep it clean.
Login or register to post comments

Stay Connected

Share |

Today's Poll

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: