In the 1917 World Series, the Chicago White Sox beat the New York Giants four games to two. The Series was played against the backdrop of World War I, which dominated the American newspapers that year and next.

The strong Chicago White Sox club had finished the 1917 season with a 100–54 record: their first and only 100-win season in franchise history as of 2009. The Sox's next World Series winner in 2005 would finish the regular season with a 99–63 record.

The Sox won Game 1 of the Series in Chicago 2–1 behind a complete game by Eddie Cicotte. Happy Felsch hit a home run in the fourth inning that provided the winning margin. The Sox beat the Giants in Game 2 by a score of 7–2 behind another complete game effort by Red Faber to take a 2–0 lead in the series.

Back in New York for Game 3, Cicotte again threw a complete game, but the Sox could not muster a single run against Giants starter Rube Benton and lost 2–0. In Game 4 the Sox were shut out again 5–0 by Ferdie Schupp. Faber threw another complete game, but the Series was even at 2–2 going back to Chicago.

Reb Russell started Game 5 in Chicago, but only faced three batters before giving way to Cicotte. Going into the bottom of the seventh inning, Chicago was down 5–2, but they rallied to score three in the seventh and three in the eighth to win 8–5. Faber pitched the final two innings for the win. In Game 6 the Sox took an early 3–0 lead and on the strength of another complete game victory from Faber (his third of the Series) won 4–2 and clinched the World Championship. Eddie Collins was the hitting hero, batting .409 over the six game series while Cicotte and Faber combined to pitch 50 out of a total 52 World Series innings to lead the staff.

The great athlete Jim Thorpe, better known for football in general, made his only World Series "appearance" during Game 5, where he was listed in the lineup card as starting in right field; but for his turn at bat in the top of the first inning he was replaced by a left-handed hitting Dave Robertson.

The White Sox were essentially dismantled following the 1920 season by baseball Commissioner Kenesaw Mountain Landis due to the Black Sox Scandal in the 1919 World Series. They did not win another World Series until 2005.


Chicago White Sox, 100-54
New York Giants, 98-56


Chicago White Sox, Pants Rowland
New York Giants, John McGraw


Silk O'Loughlin (AL), Bill Klem (NL), Billy Evans (AL), Cy Rigler (NL)

Hall of Famers:

Chicago White Sox: Eddie Collins, Red Faber, Ray Schalk. Giants: John McGraw (mgr.).

1917 World Series, Black Sox Scandal, Chicago White Sox, Comiskey Park, Dave Robertson, Eddie Cicotte, Eddie Collins, Ferdie Schupp, Happy Felsch, Jim Thorpe, John McGraw, Judge and Jury: The Life and Times of Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis, New York Giants, Polo Grounds, Ray Schalk, Reb Russell, Red Faber, Rube Benton, World War I


Login or register to post comments
Share |