The 1920 Cleveland Indians season was the 20th season in franchise history. The Indians won the American League pennant and proceeded to win their first World Series title in the history of the franchise. Pitchers Jim Bagby, Stan Coveleski and Ray Caldwell combined to win 75 games. Bagby became the last pitcher to win 30 games in one season for the Indians in the 20th century.

Despite the team's success, the season was perhaps more indelibly marked by the death of starting shortstop Ray Chapman, who died after being hit by a pitch on August 17, becoming the second of only two Major League Baseball players to have died as a result of an injury received in a game (the first was Mike "Doc" Powers in 1909).

American League, Cleveland Indians, Jim Bagby, Ray Caldwell, Ray Chapman, Stan Coveleski


    Be respectful, keep it clean.
Login or register to post comments
Share |