St. Louis Cardinals

St. Louis Cardinals

St. Louis Cardinals

Busch Stadium III (2006 - present)
AAA Memphis Redbirds,AA Springfield Cardinals,Advanced A Palm Beach Cardinals,A Quad City River Bandits
Retired Numbers:
1, 2, 6, 9, 14, 17, 20, 24, 42, 42, 45
William DeWitt, Jr. and Fred Hanser
General Manager:
John Mozeliak
Played As:

This is a overview of many great Cardinal Players and historical figures.

Individual achievements and awards

Darryl Kile Award: Two awards are presented each year, one to a St. Louis Cardinal and one to a Houston Astro, each of whom exemplifies Kile's virtues of being "a good teammate, a great friend, a fine father and a humble man." The winner is selected by each local chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America. See: St. Louis Cardinals award winners and league leaders#Darryl Kile Award.

No-hitters: Cardinal pitchers have thrown ten no-hitters: Ted Breitenstein (1891), Jesse Haines (1924), Paul Dean (1934), Lon Warneke (1941), Ray Washburn (1968), Bob Gibson (1971), Bob Forsch (two, in 1978 and 1983), Jose Jimenez (1999), and Bud Smith (2001). The Cardinals have never been involved in a perfect game, win or lose.

Cy-Young Awards: Two Cardinal pitchers have won Cy Young Awards: Bob Gibson in 1968 and 1970, and Chris Carpenter in 2005.

MVP Awards: 16 different Cardinal players have won a total of 20 Most Valuable Player awards, the most recent being Albert Pujols in 2009. Bob Gibson won both the Cy Young Award and the MVP award in 1968. The Cardinals are second only to the New York Yankees in Most Valuable Player awards won (22).

Rookie of the Year: Six Cardinals have won the Rookie of the Year award: Wally Moon in 1954, Bill Virdon in 1955, Bake McBride in 1974, Vince Coleman in 1985, Todd Worrell in 1986, and Albert Pujols in 2001.

Hitting for the cycle: 20 Cardinal players have hit for the cycle, the most recent being Mark Grudzielanek in 2005.

Triple Crown: Four of the sixteen Triple Crown of hitting in the major leagues (including three of only six in the National League) were by Cardinals. Tip O'Neill won the American Association Triple Crown in 1887. Rogers Hornsby became the only two-time Triple Crown winner in NL history when he did it in 1922 and 1925 (Ted Williams won two AL Triple Crowns). Joe Medwick's Triple Crown in 1937 is the last in the history of the National League. Hornsby's 1925 numbers led the entire major leagues, making him one of only five players to have won this expanded Triple Crown.

Home runs and RBI in a game: Jim Bottomley drove in 12 runs for the Cardinals against Brooklyn on Sept. 16, 1924, an all-time MLB single-game record that still stands. Another Cardinal, Mark Whiten, tied that record on Sept. 7, 1993, and in the process tied another MLB single-game record by hitting four home runs in a game.

2 Grand Slams in a single inning: Fernando Tatis is the only player in Major League history to hit two Grand Slam Home Runs in the same inning, on April 23, 1999 vs. Chan Ho Park of the Dodgers.

Hall of Famers

Players elected with Cardinals logo on plaque (elected year in parentheses)
Lou Brock, LF, 1964–1979   (1985)
Dizzy Dean, P, 1930–1937   (1953)
Bob Gibson, P, 1959–1975   (1981)
Whitey Herzog, MGR, 1980–1990 (2009 elected; 2010 induction)
Stan Musial, LF-1B, 1941–1944, 1946–1963   (1969)
Red Schoendienst, 2B, 1945–1956, 1961–1963) or MGR 1965–1976, 1980, 1990   (1989)
Enos Slaughter, RF, 1938–1942, 1946–1953   (1985)
Ozzie Smith, SS, 1982–1996   (2002)
Billy Southworth, RF, 1926–1927, 1929; MGR, 1929, 1940–1945  (2008)
Bruce Sutter, P, 1981–1984   (2006)

Players elected with Cardinals as primary team
Jim Bottomley, 1B, 1922–1932
Frankie Frisch, 2B, 1927–1938
Chick Hafey, LF, 1924–1931
Jesse Haines, P, 1920–1937
Rogers Hornsby, 2B, 1915–1926, 1933
Joe Medwick, LF, 1932–1940, 1947–1948
Johnny Mize, 1B, 1936–1941

Other Hall-of-Famers associated with Cardinals
Grover Cleveland Alexander, P, 1926–1929
Walter Alston, 1B, 1936
Jake Beckley, 1B, 1904–1907
Roger Bresnahan, C, 1909–1912
Mordecai Brown, P, 1903
Jesse Burkett, LF, 1899–1901
Steve Carlton, P, 1965–1971
Orlando Cepeda, 1B, 1966–1968
Charles Comiskey, MGR, 1882–1889, 1891
Roger Connor, 1B, 1894–1897
Leo Durocher, SS, 1933–1937
Dennis Eckersley, P, 1996–1997
Pud Galvin, P, 1892
Burleigh Grimes, P, 1930–1931, 1933–1934
Miller Huggins, 2B, 1910–1916
Rabbit Maranville, SS, 1927–1928
Bill McKechnie, MGR, 1928–1929
John McGraw, 3B, 1900
Kid Nichols, P, 1904–1905
Wilbert Robinson, C, 1900
Dazzy Vance, P, 1933–1934
Bobby Wallace, SS, 1899–1901, 1917–1918
Hoyt Wilhelm, P, 1957
Vic Willis, P, 1910
Cy Young, P, 1899–1900

Ford C. Frick Award recipients
Jack Buck (1954–59, 1961–2001)
Harry Caray (1945–69)
Joe Garagiola (1955–62)*
Milo Hamilton (1954)
Bob Uecker**

* Played and broadcast for the Cardinals ** Played but did not broadcast for the Cardinals

1982 World Series, 2006 World Series, Albert Pujols, Baseball History, MLB Current, St. Louis Cardinals, Stan Musial, Stan Musial Statue
This day in baseball history

August 01

  • 1994

    On August 1, 1994, Cal Ripken, Jr. of the Baltimore Orioles ...

  • 1982

    On August 1, 1982, the major leagues’ all-time home run ki ...

  • 1978

    On August 1, 1978, the hitting streak of Cincinnati Reds sta ...

More Baseball History

Sponsored Links


Login or register to post comments
Share |

Poll of The Day

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: