Los Angeles Dodgers

Los Angeles Dodgers

LA Dodgers Logo

Dodger Stadium
AAA Albuquerque Isotopes, AA Chattanooga Lookouts,Advanced A Rancho Cucamonga Quakes, A Great Lakes Loons
Retired Numbers:
1, 2, 4, 19, 20, 24, 32, 39, 42
Frank McCourt
General Manager:
Ned Colletti
Played As:

Hall Of Famers

Brooklyn Grooms/Superbas/Robins/Dodgers

Dave Bancroft
Dan Brouthers
Roy Campanella
Max Carey1
Kiki Cuyler
Leo Durocher2
Burleigh Grimes1


Ned Hanlon
Billy Herman
Waite Hoyt
Hughie Jennings
Willie Keeler
Joe Kelley
George Kelly


Tony Lazzeri
Freddie Lindstrom
Ernie Lombardi
Al Lopez
Heinie Manush
Rabbit Maranville
Rube Marquard
Tommy McCarthy


Joe McGinnity
Joe Medwick
Pee Wee Reese
Jackie Robinson
Wilbert Robinson
Duke Snider
Casey Stengel2


Dazzy Vance
Arky Vaughan
Lloyd Waner
Paul Waner
John Montgomery Ward1
Zack Wheat
Hack Wilson

Los Angeles Dodgers

Walter Alston
Jim Bunning


Gary Carter
Don Drysdale
Rickey Henderson


Sandy Koufax
Tommy Lasorda2
Juan Marichal


Eddie Murray
Walter O'Malley
Frank Robinson


Don Sutton
Hoyt Wilhelm

Players listed in bold are depicted on their Hall of Fame plaques wearing a Dodgers, Robins, Superbas, Grooms, or Bridegrooms cap insignia.
– depicted on Hall of Fame plaque without a cap or cap insignia due to not wearing a cap or playing when caps had no insignia; Hall of Fame recognizes Brooklyn/Los Angeles as "Primary Team"
– Walter O'Malley was inducted as an Executive/Pioneer for his contributions to baseball as owner of the Dodgers. He is depicted on his plaque without a cap.
1 – inducted as player, also managed Dodgers or was player-manager
2 – inducted as manager, also played for Dodgers or was player-manager

Retired Numbers

Since 1997, Robinson's #42 has been retired throughout Major League Baseball in honor of his breaking the color barrier in 1947. Robinson is the only major league baseball player to have this honor bestowed upon him. He spent his entire career with the Dodgers, who retired his number in 1972.

Because the MLB decided to grandfather the use of the number 42 out of the game, New York Yankees closer Mariano Rivera still wears the number as he is the only active player who wore the number before it was retired across all of Major League Baseball.
Hall of Famer Sandy Koufax

Koufax, Campanella, and Robinson were the first Dodgers to have their numbers retired. They were all retired in a ceremony at Dodger Stadium on June 4, 1972.

Gilliam died suddenly in 1978 after a 28-year career with the Dodgers organization. The Dodgers retired his number two days after his death, prior to Game 1 of the 1978 World Series, making him the only non-Hall-of-Famer to have his number retired by the Dodgers.

The Dodgers have not issued #34 since the departure of Fernando Valenzuela in 1991, although it has not been officially retired. Steve Garvey's #6 was not reissued for 19 years until it was given to Dante Bichette in spring training of 2002 and was not worn during a regular season game until Jolbert Cabrera wore it in 2003. Manager Joe Torre wore it during his tenure with the Dodgers.



Most Valuable Player

    * Brooklyn
          o 1913 - Jake Daubert
          o 1924 - Dazzy Vance
          o 1941 - Dolph Camilli
          o 1949 - Jackie Robinson
          o 1951 - Roy Campanella
          o 1953 - Roy Campanella
          o 1955 - Roy Campanella
          o 1956 - Don Newcombe
    * Los Angeles
          o 1962 - Maury Wills
          o 1963 - Sandy Koufax
          o 1974 - Steve Garvey
          o 1988 - Kirk Gibson

Cy Young

    * Brooklyn
          o Don Newcombe (1956, MLB)
    * Los Angeles
          o Don Drysdale (1962, MLB)
          o Éric Gagné (2003)
          o Orel Hershiser (1988)
          o Sandy Koufax (1963, 1965–66, MLB)
          o Mike Marshall (1974)
          o Fernando Valenzuela (1981)

Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

    * Brooklyn
          o Joe Black (1952)
          o Jim Gilliam (1953)
          o Don Newcombe (1949)
          o Jackie Robinson (1947, MLB)
    * Los Angeles
          o Todd Hollandsworth (1996)
          o Frank Howard (1960)
          o Steve Howe (1980)
          o Eric Karros (1992)
          o Jim Lefebvre (1965)
          o Raúl Mondesi (1994)
          o Hideo Nomo (1995)
          o Mike Piazza (1993)
          o Steve Sax (1982)
          o Ted Sizemore (1969)
          o Rick Sutcliffe (1979)
          o Fernando Valenzuela (1981)

Gold Glove Award

    * Brooklyn
          o Gil Hodges (first baseman [3], 1957–59)

    * Los Angeles
          o Willie Davis (outfielder [3], 1971–73)
          o Steve Finley (outfielder - Arizona & LA, 2004)
          o Steve Garvey (first baseman [4], 1974–77)
          o Orel Hershiser (pitcher, 1988)
          o César Izturis (shortstop, 2004)
          o Charles Johnson (catcher - Marlins & LA, 1998)
          o Matt Kemp (outfielder 2009)
          o Greg Maddux (pitcher - Padres & LA, 2007)
          o Russell Martin (catcher 2007)
          o Andy Messersmith (pitcher [2], 1974–75)
          o Raúl Mondesi (outfielder, 1995)
          o Johnny Roseboro (catcher [2], 1961, 1966)
          o Fernando Valenzuela (pitcher, 1986)
          o Maury Wills (shortstop [2], 1961–62)
Post-Season and All-Star Game MVP
    * World Series
          o 1955 - Johnny Podres
          o 1959 - Larry Sherry
          o 1963 - Sandy Koufax
          o 1965 - Sandy Koufax
          o 1981 - Ron Cey, Pedro Guerrero and Steve Yeager
          o 1988 - Orel Hershiser

    * NL Championship Series
          o 1977 - Dusty Baker
          o 1978 - Steve Garvey
          o 1981 - Burt Hooton
          o 1984 - Steve Garvey
          o 1988 - Orel Hershiser

    * All-Star Game (Note: This was re-named the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award in              2002.)
          o 1962 - Maury Wills (Game 1)
          o 1977 - Don Sutton
          o 1978 - Steve Garvey
          o 1996 - Mike Piazza

Manager of the Year

    * Tommy Lasorda (1983 and 1988)

Los Angeles Dodgers
This day in baseball history

May 24

  • 2007

    On May 24, 2007, leadoff man Ichiro Suzuki goes 3-for-6 in t ...

  • 1995

    On May 24, 1995, the Chicago White Sox and Texas Rangers pla ...

  • 1984

    On May 24, 1984, the Detroit Tigers win their major league r ...

More Baseball History

Sponsored Links


Login or register to post comments
Share |

Poll of The Day

Will Red Sox Repeat in 2014: